A Communication Blur

In the book “Blur: How to Know What’s True in the Age of Information Overload,” by Bill Kovach and Tom Rosenstiel, they offer an thought-provoking evaluation of this centuries approach to news broadcasting and journalism, and how it effects consumers of news.

Now, I am not much of news enthusiast but part of “adulting” is knowing what is happening in the world around you, therefore I have grown to appreciate news journals, broadcasting, etc. Bill Kovach and Tom Rosentiel show the major transformations of communication in through centuries that have got us to where we are today in the news world.

I chose two of the communication transformations that I found to be most important. I think the early forms of the evolution of news and communication were the most important as I believe them to be the most sincere. Oral language and the development of news were the forms of communication I chose. I am an extrovert, while reading this book I realized my personal love for verbal communication. In previous blog posts I have discussed my need for a digital detox and Bill and Tom’s book caused me to take a step back once again and notice the blur this centuries digital revolution has brought to my life.

While translating what Bill Kovach and Tom Rosentiel discuss in chapters one through three, the truth in the news today is blurry due to having such a wide variation and formats of media broadcasting. This causes a blur in my life and probably many other people in this world because it creates so many more possibilities of misinformation, which also creates a much harder search as a consumer of news for a reliable news platform.

jrm215newstransformations

Now that I have noticed the blur this century has caused me from our transformation towards a digital revolution, I was thankful that Bill Kovach and Tom Rosentiel make a point to not only acknowledge the situation but to offer a personal solution to the inevitable transformations that come with an digital evolving society. Their approach reassures readers that having a certain amount of skepticism, along with a series of questions is a healthy approach when hearing, reading, or sharing news. With all the news sources and sites that cross our paths as consumers every day, it can be extremely difficult to pin point where or if the same news stories differ or if one source just shared more/less than the other.

Thanks to Kovach and Rosentiel pointing out the blur in the transformations of communication I plan to stay more conscience of the news I am reading and to embrace the use of oral language and the development of news surrounding my life.

 

Leave a Reply

